27 Jun 2014

FIFA World Cup 2014 Knockout Stage Schedule

The knockout stage of the 2014 FIFA World Cup is the second and final stage of the World Cup, following the group stage. It will begin on 28 June with the round of 16 matches and end on 13 July with the final match of the tournament, to be held at Estádio do Maracanã, Rio de Janeiro. The top two teams from each group (16 in total) will advance to the knockout stage to compete in a single-elimination style tournament. A third place match is included and played between the two losing teams of the semi-finals.

In the knockout stage (including the final), if a match is level at the end of 90 minutes, extra time of two periods (15 minutes each) will be played. If the score is still level after extra time, the match will be decided by a penalty shootout.

This is the third time where there are no teams from AFC in the knockout stages. The last time was the 1990 and 1986 world cups.
2014 World Cup Schedule - 2nd Round

DateTime (ET)Match
June 28NoonBrazil vs. Chile
June 284 p.m.Colombia vs. Uruguay
June 29NoonNetherlands vs. Mexico
June 294 p.m.Costa Rica vs. Greece
June 30NoonFrance vs. Nigeria
June 304 p.m.Germany vs. Algeria
July 1NoonArgentina vs. Switzerland
July 14 p.m.Belgium vs. USA

No comments:

Post a Comment